Q&A with Casey Wilson

886 0

A Community-Lovin' Mother, Wife and Doctor

by Melissa LaScaleia

Introduce me to your family.

It’s myself and my husband Derin; he works for Tidelands Health as the operations manager for their oncology department. We have a three-year-old son, Porter; a nine-month-old daughter, Salem; and an English Bulldog, Rhett.

Where are all the places you came from? Where do you live now?

I grew up in York, Pennsylvania. We moved to the Market Common area two years ago from Baltimore, Maryland where we lived for six years. Before that, we were in Philadelphia while I was attending medical school.

Why did you move to Myrtle Beach?

I was offered a job at Grand Strand Medical Center to be their emergency ultrasound director as well as ultrasound fellowship director for their new Emergency Medicine Residency Training program.

What is your favorite place in Myrtle Beach?

The Market Common. Usually we spend several days a week going to Savannah’s Playground, Barnes & Noble, Edventure, and Kosta Bowls (the acai bowl and smoothie shop).

What do you like the most about living here?

The community. We don’t have any family here, and our neighbors have been incredible about stepping in if we ever need a hand, or help with babysitting. We quickly felt at home here with how inclusive and friendly our neighbors are.

How has your lifestyle changed since moving here?

It’s definitely slowed down. We previously lived in a very busy urban environment. Now, we are able to really appreciate the small things since having small children, and spend every possible moment outdoors that we can— riding bikes, going to parks, and going to the beach.

What new activities have you taken up since moving here?

Golf cart cruising and visiting construction sites for our 3-year-old who is obsessed with construction machinery. We are also hopeful pickleball aficionados. My husband played tennis in college, and we are trying to learn pickleball now so we can keep up with our very active neighbors in the sport.

Do you find people here friendlier or more at ease?

Yes, I think that the people here are less stressed and very much at ease in their daily lives.

What is one thing that your neighbors don’t know about you? 

I love to channel my inner creativity by making clothes and crafts for my kids.

What are your favorite things to do here?

Attending festivals and charity events for the local nonprofit 100 Women Who Care; going to the farmers markets and the student-run dinners at the International Culinary School; and spending time outside with our neighbors. I also enjoy attending FemInEM events here. FemInEM is a national group for women in emergency medicine to come together socially to talk about some of the unique issues we face as women in our profession. They are purely fun, social events, and a time for us to connect and decompress with others who can relate to what we’re experiencing.

Is there anything that you miss or would like to see in Myrtle Beach?

A large outdoor brewery or winery would be amazing.


Thank you for submitting your details.

If you do not receive an email from us in the next 5 minutes please check your spam/junk mail.

Thank you and have a great day!